Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

June 16, 2022 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday June 16, 2022 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Jennifer Zahradnik, At Large, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Loras Schulte, Norway, Tracy Seeman, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Dave Fish, Belle Plaine, Jared Vogeler, Van Horne, Nancy Thorkildson, Shellsburg, Amy Boddicker, County, Alicia Presto, ECICOG, Bill Voss, Walford, Nancy Jensen, County and Jon Kaestner, County.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Fish , seconded by Kearns to approve the May 19, 2022 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Jensen to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included project update, HLW submitted permit renewal, employee handbook updates, grant received and property maintenance. Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Kearns to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Voss to purchase a 1000 gallon fuel storage tank. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report included summer reading program and comp plan. Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Voss to accept the ECICOG Report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Thorkildson, seconded by Boddicker to approve Resolution 2022-06-01 Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Voss, seconded by Fish to approve Resolution 2022-06-02 Approval of Transfer of Funds Between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2022-06-03 Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Fish to approve the three year contract with Midwest Electronics, trying to get the trailer fee removed. All Ayes.

Motion made by Boddicker, seconded by Seeman to approve the tire contract with Liberty Tire. All Ayes.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Fish to keep the tire prices the same. All Ayes.

Motion to adjourn made by Zahradnik, seconded by Fish. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:11PM.

Chairperson